Mark Schatzker in the Globe and Mail…

Is it just me or is journalist Mark Schatzker really that lame.

He is the only journalist at the Globe who finds the Left on City Council hilarious but not the Brothers Ford. Not only that, but I think he has been hired to write whimsical and funny stories on local politics but I haven’t yet cracked a smile on reading any of his work…something which I do very infrequently, I admit.

He thinks that talking out of the side of his mouth is innately funny. Yet with all the fodder provide by the likes of Mammoliti and the Fords he cannot find anything really funny to say.

In today’s Globe (Wed Jan 4) he has an article ‘Stop the chicken busts’. It is apparently about how difficult it is to buy homestead chickens in Canada. But, and I should have known this, what the article is really about is a tirade against supply management of poultry in Canada. Yep, if there is a right-wing cause, Mark is on it!

You know, I wouldn’t mind so much if indeed he did have a sense of humour. There is a Seinfeld episode about a dentist who converts to Judaism for the jokes. You really should see it to understand my complete distaste for Schatzker.

4 Comments to “Mark Schatzker in the Globe and Mail…”

  1. Is there a link to this column? Here’s the Seinfeld episode. (I think)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Yada_Yada

    So I haven’t read the column, but here’s a question for you – can you raise chickens in your backyard in Toronto?

  2. Hi Baumgartner,
    No, I don’t have the link (I’m just too lazy to provide it!) but I thank you for the wikipedia link to Seinfeld. Yes, that’s the episode I was referring to.

    As for chickens in Toronto I believe the answer is ‘no’. Can you in San Francisco?

  3. Yes, the City is reconsidering its policy on raising certain animals but as far as I know, it’s still a ‘no go’. Animals like chickens make a racket and are smelly, but I personally have had experience with neighbours raising rabbits for food.

Leave a Reply

